College of the
50th logo
CR News : Del Norte Last Updated: Feb 4, 2015 - 12:35:55 PM

55 CR DN students to be honored at commencement ceremony Friday night at Mary Peacock School
May 11, 2012 - 7:00:00 PM

Email this article
 Printer friendly page

Fifty five students from the College of the Redwoods Del Norte Education Center will be honored during commencement exercises at 7 p.m. on Friday, May 11 at Mary Peacock School, located at 1720 Arlington Drive in Crescent City.

This year the graduates will be hearing from two Commencement speakers, entrepreneurs Ellery and Gail West, owners of Organic Essence in Crescent City.

Interim CR President/Superintendent Dr. Utpal K. Goswami and CR Del Norte area Trustee Rick Bennett will present diplomas and certificates to graduates. Christian Taylor will be honored as the outstanding graduate. Steven Bevier, who will receive an associate degree, will lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

CR Del Norte Education Center Dean Anita Janis will deliver the opening remarks.

The graduates will be introduced by Counselor Becky Blatnick and Associate Professor Robert Horel.

The Del Norte High School Stage Band and the CR Del Norte Chorale will provide musical entertainment during commencement and a reception will follow the graduation ceremony.

Del Norte's Faculty of the Year is Professor Mike Haley (Mathematics) and the Associate Faculty of the Year is Deborah Gerth (English). The Classified Staff Member of the Year is Jim Graham (Institutional Technology Technician).

The 55 students who will receive associate degrees are: Laura Adams, Laura Jo Battaglieri, Steven M. Bevier, Michelle Lisa Blecher, Richard Bonfadini, Shaka-Lumumba Enos Brown, Ryan Bruder, Janeice K. Campbell, Miranda L. Cook, Ky Harrison Crowe, Erin K. Daniels, Amy Eberwein, Rachael Christine Fair, Jared William Fillippa, Vanessa Nicole Ford, Cassandra Rose Haddad, Jennifer A. Harrah-Cantrall, Alex J. Hepler, Kyle Wesley Hinshaw, Heather Naomi Gail Hogan, Marian Kubicek, Amanda M. Lawry, Amie D. Lopez, Heather Louise Lopez, Michael Anthony Lopez, Mellisa Marti, George S. Mitchell, Heather Newton, Joshua K. Ochoa, Emily Rose Owings, Elizabeth N. Page, Dale Lee Patton, Cameron A. Pickerill-Trinitapoli, Feliza Dawn Roberts, Paul C. Ronjoin, Devin Maxwell Bennett Schaefferkoetter, Connor Skudstad, Treasure Ann Spear, Andrew Brian Sroufe, Tiffany Lynn Storm, Janee Caroline Strauss, Linda Grace Taber, Christian K. Taylor, Laura Thao, See Thao, Stacey Torres, Tara Tracy, Alyssa Vermeer, Laurie Marie Walker, Wesley Daniel White, Mellissa K. Williams, Alicia E. Wilson, Sheila Wood, Mee Xiong and Obiri Yeboah.

Certificates of Achievement will be awarded to Kimberlee Budinger, Trisha Lynn Conner, Susan Barrett Davis, Rebecca Delforge, Haley Micheale Gist, William W. Hinshaw, Natasha Marie Kilduff, Chris Sargent, Bessie Ann Shorty, Lisa Marie Van Vliet and Ronald Wormuth Jr.

"You have successfully completed an important step along the path of your life's journey," Janis said. "The education you've received at the College of the Redwoods has provided a solid foundation upon which to build your future. Always look for fresh opportunities to develop your full potential. Congratulations to all of you."

© Copyright College of the Redwoods

Top of Page